Penang tertiary institutions reside in the second smallest state in Malaysia.

Penang also known as ‘Pulau Pinang’ in Malay lies in the northwest coast of Peninsular Malaysia. It consists of the island and the mainland that are in the proximity of other states – Kedah, Perak and straits of Melaka.

Penang has a population of a little over one million five hundred thousand people within an area of a little over one thousand square kilometers (Department of Statistics Malaysia 2011, Penang State Government 2010).

In addition to the serenity of its environment, tertiary institutions located in the state are enumerated below.

Penang tertiary institutions

  1. Advance Tertiary College (campuses in Kuala Lumpur and Penang)
  2. Allianze University College of Medical Science (AUCMS)
  3. Disted College
  4. EBM / Fine Arts Education Group
  5. Equator Academy of Arts
  6. Excelpolitan International College (XPI)
  7. Han Chiang College
  8. INTI International University (campuses in Subang, Penang, Sarawak and Sabah)
  9. Island College of Technology
  10. KDU University college (campuses in Selangor and Penang)
  11. Olympia College (campuses in Pahang, Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Johor, Perak and Selangor)
  12. Penang Adventist Hospital College of Nursing
  13. Penang Medical College
  14. SEGI University College (campuses in Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Sarawak, Seri Kembangan and other training centers)
  15. Silicon Institute of Technology
  16. The One Academy (campuses in Selangor and Penang)
  17. Tunku Abdul Rahman College (campuses in Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Perak, Johor, Pahang and Sabah)
  18. Universiti Sains Malaysia
  19. Wawasan Open University (campuses in Penang, Perak, Johor, Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Kelantan and Kuching)

If you are interested in gaining admissions into any of these universities and colleges, take advantage of our free service.

Penang State Administrative structure

Penang state is divided into five districts namely S.P Tengah, S.P Utara, S.P Selatan, Timur Laut and Barat Daya.

The head of the state executive is the Governor. The Governor oversees the entire Executive Council. The Executive Council is headed by a Chief Minister who coordinates the activity of other members of the Executive Council.

Members of the Executive Council administer the state through the various specialized departments and agencies. These departments and units function by carrying out activities such as promoting tourism, improving infrastructure, town planning, agricultural and mines development and beautification of the territory.

The state legislative assembly concerns with the legislations and polices relevant to the functioning of the state.

Each of the five districts has a District Officer that provides oversight to the communities in it and maintains single point accountability for the districts’ affairs (Penang State Government 2011).

Tertiary institutions in Pahang are regulated by the Malaysian Department of Higher Education and provide a welcoming environment for local and international students.


Department of Statistics 2011, Basic population characteristics by administration districts, Department of statistics, Malaysia.

Penang State Government 2010, Government, Penang State Government, Malaysia.

Have you made up your mind on your favorite institutions? Begin the admission process here.

Take me back to the top of the page

Return from Penang tertiary institutions to Study in Malaysia

Return from Penang tertiary institutions to Student services Home page

New! Comments

Have a great idea or comments? Have your say about what you just read on this page! Leave me a comment in the box below.If you like what you read, please provide us feedback before you leave by clicking on the "Like" button on top or below the Navigation bar on the left.Thank you.