Sabah tertiary institutions reside in the second largest state in Malaysia - Sabah. Sabah is situated on the northern island of Borneo with Kota Kinabalu as the state capital.

Sabah borders the country of Indonesia in the south while the north, east and west share coastlines with the South China sea, Sulu sea and the Celebes sea.

Sabah has a population of about three million two hundred thousand people within an area of a little over seventy-three thousand six hundred square kilometers (Department of Statistics Malaysia 2011, Sabah State Government 2011).

In addition to its industry, tertiary institutions located in the state are listed below.

Sabah tertiary institutions

1. INTI College Sabah (campuses in Penang, Sabah, Sarawak and Subang)

2. Cosmopoint International College of Technology (Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Kedah, Pahang, Johor, Sabah, Kelantan, Melaka, Penang, Sarawak and Terengganu)

3. Tunku Abdul Rahman College (campuses in Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Perak, Johor, Pahang and Sabah)

4. Masterskill University College (campuses in Kedah, Selangor, Johor, Kelantan, Perak, Kuala Lumpur, Sarawak and Sabah)

5. Kolej UNIKOP (campuses in Sabah and Sarawak)

6. Open University of Malaysia (campuses in Selangor, Bangi, Kedah, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Malacca, Johor, Kalantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Sabah and Sarawak)

7. Taylor’s University (campuses in Penang, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak, Johor and Selangor)

8. Universiti Malaysia Sabah

9. Almacrest International College

10. PTPL Group of Colleges (campuses in Selangor, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, Sungai Petani and Terengganu)

11. AMC The School of Business

12. Twintech International University College of Technology (campuses in Kuala Lumpur, Kelantan and Sabah)

13. Kinabalu Commercial College

14. Asian tourism International College

15. Eastern College

16. Global Institute of Studies (campuses in Negeri Sembilan and Sabah)

17. Sabah Institute of Arts

If you are interested in gaining admissions into any of these universities and colleges, take advantage of our free service. 

Sabah State Administrative structure

Sabah state is divided into twenty four districts (by population) namely Tawau, Lahad Datu, Semporna, Sandakan, Kinabatangan, Beluran, Kota Kinabalu, Ranau, Kota Belud, Tuaran, Penampang, Papar, Kudat, Kota Maradu, Pitas, Beaufort, Kuala Penyu, Sipitang, Tenom, Nabawan, Keningau, Tambunan, Kunak and Tongod.

The state is headed by the Speaker of the state. The Speaker of the State liaises with the Public Service Commission and the State Assembly in the administration of the state.

The State Assembly works with the State Cabinet that administers the state through the various ministries. The Chief Minister heads the various ministries.

These ministries function by carrying out activities such as promoting tourism, improving state works and infrastructure, social welfare, town planning, agricultural and mines development and beautification of the territory.

The State Assembly concerns with the legislations and polices relevant to the functioning of the state. The districts have a local municipal council that provides oversight to the communities in it (Sabah State Government 2011).

Tertiary institutions in Sabah are regulated by the Malaysian Department of Higher Education and welcomes both local and international students.


Department of Statistics 2011, Basic population characteristics by administration districts, Department of statistics, Malaysia.

Sabah State Government 2011, About Sabah, Sabah State Government, Malaysia.

Have you made up your mind on your favorite institutions? Begin the admission process here.

Take me back to the top of the page

Return from Sabah tertiary institutions to Study in Malaysia

Return from Sabah tertiary institutions to Student services Home page

New! Comments

Have a great idea or comments? Have your say about what you just read on this page! Leave me a comment in the box below.If you like what you read, please provide us feedback before you leave by clicking on the "Like" button on top or below the Navigation bar on the left.Thank you.